Transformation and Evolution

img_1947

This article just appeared in the Spring 2016 issue of Focus on Fabulous magazine which concentrates on revealing the unseen beauty in today’s woman. 

 

I awakened this morning thinking about punctuated equilibrium. Evolution is a slow, gradual process but it isn’t entirely smooth.  Small changes occur over time until a large difference occurs in a stepwise fashion.   Punctuated equilibrium is an evolutionary theory that explains the rapid change one can find in the fossil record followed by long periods of stability.   And since evolution presumably happens physically and behaviorally, one can assume that this has happened with the behaviors that help the species survive.

A rather nerdy introduction, I know but stick with me.   Think back on your life.  How did you get where you are now and where would you like to go?

I know in my life I have experienced periods where things were relatively stable and changes were very small and then suddenly there was a rapid burst of change.  I might have been doing some self-exploration, reading motivational books or learning more about spirituality and then suddenly I had a revelation that encouraged a jump in my consciousness. My relationships could have been toxic and I was surrounded by negative people for years and then I recognized that I wanted a different life and needed to move on and get new friends.    An area could no longer feel like home and I moved a great distance away.   A job could no longer be fulfilling despite a good salary and I decided to take the plunge and become an entrepreneur.   Over the years there have been huge transformations – marriages, births, divorces, moves, career shifts.  I suspect this could be said for many of us.

transformation-evolution

From the outside it would appear that these abrupt alterations with little thought but internally there were a number of imperceptible modifications until finally there was little choice but to burst out of a cozy rut and revamp life.  Once the huge change was made, there would be rocky period when everything seemed off kilter and then gradually an adjustment to the new. It became the norm.  During this period one makes small, incremental modifications.  These are the basis of creating lifelong habits.

For instance a year or so ago I could not even fit my “fat clothes”.  I have been making small modifications in creating optimal health.  There is no question that over time there have been positive results but I am not where I want to go and I am prepared to take one of those huge jumps.  I know that a clean me is a healthy me and I am planning to kick off my weight loss journey with a TLS 21 Day Challenge .   The first 7 days will consist of detoxification to curb my cravings for sweet, salty and fatty foods to renew and replenish.  Next realizing a lean me is a better me, I will accelerate my program for 14 days to burn the fat so to repair and reshape my body.  This will allow me to shed some stubborn fat and shed extra pounds to feel better physically and emotionally.  From thereon I will continue to eat “clean” and to schedule daily exercise. After this dramatic change my plan is to make small, simple modifications toward optimal health.  My goal is to create life-long healthy habits.

9bb70608f4a412e6a501f2c48998c68e

Back to you – are you in a period of stasis or equilibrium?  Spring has been a time of renewal, hope, growth throughout cultures and history.  Take time to celebrate the new life that surrounds you in nature. Take walks in the park, hike through a forest, and walk along the beach, lay in the grass.  As you do so pay special attention to all the new beginnings around you – plants, animals, insects, birds.  Meditate on the natural cycle of change and replenishment.  Now look within. This is a season of great promise and renewal. Life is visibly continuing and yet there are alterations.   Is there something you need/want to dramatically adjust in your life?  Do you need a rekindling in one of more aspects?  Is something or someone making you feel unfulfilled or even sapping your soul?  Have you accepted someone else’s view of what you and your life should be rather than following your path?  If so I challenge you to start your plan toward regeneration.  It is easier to live with the status quo but you were born to be special and you owe it to yourself to manifest a wonderful life and reach your highest potential.    So look within and determine what is holding you back and what needs modification.  It could be physical, emotional or spiritual.   Be bold, be brave.  It may be time to empower yourself and make a transformation –  your own punctuated equilibrium.

trans

I had submitted this article in January and have completed the TLS 21 Day Challenge.  I’ve lost a total of 15 lbs and feel wonderful!

 

 

 

Interested in learning more? Please email me at dreambigshawn@gmail.com.

Be well and dream great!

Shawn

 

 

About Shawn Phillips

As someone who has relocated several times – buying and selling houses of my own for personal and investment purposes – I can easily put myself in my clients’ shoes. I know what I needed from my Realtors and I attempt to provide that or better for my clients. My family relocated to Charleston six years ago and my love for the city and the lifestyle is one I enjoy sharing with others. Prior to entering real estate in the Low Country I was a hospital administrator for many years in Charleston and New York City and was a Realtor in Sarasota, Florida. Leveraging my experience, I pride myself in providing outstanding client service, availability, personal touches, multi-faceted marketing, and skilled negotiations. The level of trust given to me by a client is the greatest compliment I receive as a professional. It is the foundation of my practice. My dedication to each and every client is evident before, during, and after the sale!
This entry was posted in Dream Great, Longevity and Good Health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

