Creative Visualization – Be the Hero not the Victim

Cblossomreative visualization is a powerful tool in a life reimagined. A few people contacted me privately after the last post for more specifics on what I suggest and actually do. I promised that I would point them in the right direct so here goes!

The first thing I encourage everyone to do is to realize they create their own reality. This is YOUR special gift – make your life something that is special. You do not have to settle for being a victim of whatever circumstances happened in your past. Rewrite your story with you as the hero! Don’t let fear stop you from creating the life you deserve. Don’t be afraid of what others will think. You were designed for greatness and it can be an immensely spiritual practice to understand and create this. You are here on this planet to make a difference. You don’t have to be stuck, wallowing in self-pity and self-medicating yourself with destructive behaviors such as overeating, drinking, taking drugs (prescribed or otherwise) and generally in misery. You can turn this all around starting now. Furthermore you will be surprised how your positive energy will draw like-minded people into your life.

healing

There are plenty of inspirational stories out there of people who overcame tremendous odds to achieve their dreams.   Be that hero. Be bold, be courageous, and be genuine. I implore you to be THAT person. Be the person who others aspire to be, who inspires others to go for the in life!

So now let’s talk about specific techniques. You may need to modify yours a bit to fit your individual personality and that’s fine. I’ll share what works for me and then you color in yours as you see fit.

Daily affirmation/Mission Statement – I’ve mentioned in previous posts that my goals for this year are to become healthier by losing 50 pounds (I’ve lost three just since I posted that), wealthier by creating a part-time business with my family, and helping people look and feel better. I can’t do the latter two things alone and thus am actively recruiting people who share my vision. I read my daily affirmation each morning and night and take a few minutes to meditate on it.

Sometimes I create sacred space, placing a candle before my dream board and saying the daily affirmation after centering myself. This can help me overcome the “monkey chatter” in my mind with all the daily small issues that seem to sometimes distract me from the destination. This daily affirmation has to be something you are aching for. Dream Board – Many of us have problems visualizing outcomes and need a tool to help us do so. I’ve found that a dream board is a potent way to help people stay focused on and work hard to

magic

accomplish their goals. In fact we have dream board workshops with our team members. They are encouraged to bring pictures and words of what their goal completion would look like. We then paste these on a poster board and speak to other members of the team about our dreams. Having those pictures and speaking our new reality into existence is such a fun and significant way of team building toward common goals while supporting each other in our individual paths. They are not the same for everyone. For instance a younger member of the team may want a fancy sports car and a Rolex watch while I am more interested in anti-aging (I don’t have to be infirm in my golden years), world travel and having residual income so that I have freedom and stability in retirement. Yet another team member wants to purchase a house in a nice area for her young family and creating college funds for them. Once the board is created, it should be put in a prominent place in your house so that you see it several times a day and will reflect on it. One couple created their dream board together and placed it where they would see it at the foot of their bed. Another put it in his home office. Still another in the kitchen.   Just don’t put it in a closet and forget about it!

Positive Thinking/Visualization – Create a visual in your mind that helps you focus on your life’s desire. If it is a loving, supportive mate then you might visualize dancing, laughing, walking hand in hand, etc. with Mr. or Ms. Spectacular. Want to create wealth? It might be seeing hundred dollar bills raining down from the heavens around you. Want to create a leaner, fitter body? See yourself trimmer, wearing clothes you love, doing something physical. Since a major goal of mine is to help others become healthier, I have incorporated a vision that a friend had for me – that I and others have those old fashioned baskets filled with goodies to help people who are ill. Of course my goodies are vitamins and supplements rather than containers of chicken soup and homemade herbal remedies but I visualize myself and members of my team travelling up and down the east coast and beyond with our baskets of things that make people healthier. We are fit physically, spiritually and financially and we are sharing our secrets with others. Sometimes when I’m disheartened, I intentionally call upon this visualization and it emboldens me to be positive.

fit

A plan – All the affirmations, dream boards and visualizations in the world aren’t going to mean much if you don’t actually do anything! Develop a strategy for getting from A – Z. It can be multi-pronged and realistic. It should be achievable but you should actually write the steps down on a calendar and hold yourself accountable for these steps. For instance if you want to lose weight and part of your plan is to eat better and less and exercise more then you should monitor your progress! I created a spreadsheet that I fill in daily with my weight, the amount of water I drank that day, and the number of steps I took (I used a pedometer but others use a FitBit or something of that nature). I also write down what I ate and when. It’s important for me not to skip meals as I know that when I do, I tend to reach for unhealthy food. Believe me, if I have to write it down I think twice about consuming that donut! If I slip up one day, I forgive myself and resolve not to do so the next day. I won’t lose 50 pounds in one day and it isn’t the end of the world if I blow it but I need to get back on track and stick with the plan.

goodhealth-mainAccountability – After you have created your plan, you need to hold yourself accountable. Let’s say my plan is to reach out to at least 5 people each day/5 days a week to tell them about the benefits of OPC-3 and our other supplements. I’ve decided I can accomplish this in person, through Facebook, through email or over the phone. If for some reason I haven’t been able to talk to 25 people during the week about how Market America products can help them achieve their wellness goals, then I know that I will need to spend some time on the weekend doing this. Similarly if my goal is to walk 30 minutes at least 3 times per week and I missed a day, I will need to make it up the next.

Make a choice

This is just an overview. If you are interested in learning more about creative visualization and the power of manifesting intentions through these techniques, I urge you to buy the book such as “The Secret” or “Creative Visualization” or go online and watch some of the excellent videos. But whatever you do, get moving on creating your amazing life. You ca live a life filled with purpose, happiness and peace but you must take action.

If you are interested in working with a positive leader and in building your own business, please email me at dreambigshawn@gmail.com.

Be well and dream big!

Shawn






marketamericalogo

About Shawn Phillips

As someone who has relocated several times – buying and selling houses of my own for personal and investment purposes – I can easily put myself in my clients’ shoes. I know what I needed from my Realtors and I attempt to provide that or better for my clients. My family relocated to Charleston six years ago and my love for the city and the lifestyle is one I enjoy sharing with others. Prior to entering real estate in the Low Country I was a hospital administrator for many years in Charleston and New York City and was a Realtor in Sarasota, Florida. Leveraging my experience, I pride myself in providing outstanding client service, availability, personal touches, multi-faceted marketing, and skilled negotiations. The level of trust given to me by a client is the greatest compliment I receive as a professional. It is the foundation of my practice. My dedication to each and every client is evident before, during, and after the sale!
This entry was posted in Dream Great and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

