It’s Not Enough to Just Live Longer

Shawn at gala August 2014          It is funny how much more focused I am on my body as I grow older.  It’s important to me now not only to live longer but to feel energetic and to avoid many of the chronic complaints far too many of us experience later in life.  I read recently that approximately half of the population doesn’t believe that taking supplements promote a healthy lifestyle or can help reverse medical conditions.  While I agree that the first line of defense is to eat a healthy diet, I think we honestly have to admit that few of us do so.  We eat too many fats and sugar and too few vegetables and fruits.  We load up quickly on fast food and we are surrounded by pollutants even if we choose to eat organically. Sound familiar?

The truth is that I don’t think I’m alone in admitting that I’ve taken my body for granted for many years and yes, am starting to pay the price. 80% of our ailments can be prevented by making good choices – don’t smoke, avoid alcohol, exercise regularly, eat nutritiously and organically, live in unpolluted areas, avoid stress,  don’t allow ourselves to become obese, etc.   But let’s get real – most of us haven’t been perfect in this regard.  Even if we have tried hard we are still bombarded by environmental factors such pollution, radiation, and herbicides. It’s almost impossible to avoid them. Add to that I’ve had a stressful job for the past….well forever!

fruits and veggies

And the funny thing is that our bodies are so perfect that it doesn’t really bother most of us until we hit middle age and beyond.  Then all those bad choices and the environmental factors start catching up with us.

Me?  Well at age 60 my previously robust health was failing.  I was at least 50 pounds overweight.  My blood pressure was rising, bad cholesterol was rising and I was even borderline type II diabetic.  I had an ongoing pain in my hip that would awaken me each night, disturbing my rest and I was gulping down anti-inflammatories like candy.  I even had developed severe allergies and asthma.  Not exactly a specimen of good health!  My physician suggested I lose weight (I know, join the club!) and gave me prescriptions.  Each morning I would rise and have what I referred to jokingly as my breakfast of champions – a handful of pills.  Of course each pill had side effects so soon I found myself taking pills to counter the effects of the pills.  Sound familiar?

pills1

Furthermore what I was discovering is that despite losing 40 pounds, I still had pain and there was little difference in my blood-work. You’ve heard it said that the definition of stupidity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result? Well I sure was stupid as for years  I continued to take all those pills and I still had pain and all the other issues.  Worse yet, without good health and wellness my ability to enjoy life was diminished and I was spending a mint on prescription medications!

Now let’s add the vain part – I didn’t like the fact I was suddenly looking older.  I had lost my youthful glow.  For the first time in my life, people were starting to accurately guess my age and I didn’t like it!

“It’s not just getting a goal that matters but the quality of life you experience along the way.”  Anthony Robbins

I wanted to live a long life but that was not enough.  I refused to accept that pain and illness were inevitable outcomes of growing older.   I wanted to look and feel younger.  I wanted to preserve the integrity of my body and of my skin.   This has led me down a path of research and discovery to improving my well-being and a quest to improve my health.   I have a scientific background and am married to a scientist so I didn’t just accept the latest “snake oil”.  I read the scientific studies and came to the conclusion that yes, we can reverse the damage.

I’ve found that substances that are good for one part of my body end up being good for other parts of my body as of course the blood flows everywhere.  I’ve learned quite a bit about free radicals and their negative impact causing cancer and heart disease.   I’ve learned about the positive effects of some vitamins and supplements.  Along the way I’ve found products that really work and aren’t just hype.

This led me to become interested in becoming a distributor and ultimately in opening my own business so that I can help others feel and look better.  So with this tease I’ll conclude this blog post but promise that in the blogs to come, I’ll share a bit about how I have regained my health, quit having pain, and have more energy.  I will give you the scientific references so you too can be convinced that there is merit in these products.  And I’ll share stories of others who have found this works for them.

I would love to hear your experiences too! Feel free to drop me a line at dreamgreatshawn@gmail.com .

Be well and dream great!

Shawn






About Shawn Phillips

As someone who has relocated several times – buying and selling houses of my own for personal and investment purposes – I can easily put myself in my clients’ shoes. I know what I needed from my Realtors and I attempt to provide that or better for my clients. My family relocated to Charleston six years ago and my love for the city and the lifestyle is one I enjoy sharing with others. Prior to entering real estate in the Low Country I was a hospital administrator for many years in Charleston and New York City and was a Realtor in Sarasota, Florida. Leveraging my experience, I pride myself in providing outstanding client service, availability, personal touches, multi-faceted marketing, and skilled negotiations. The level of trust given to me by a client is the greatest compliment I receive as a professional. It is the foundation of my practice. My dedication to each and every client is evident before, during, and after the sale!
This entry was posted in Longevity and Good Health, Retirement/Reinvention and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

