Zabar’s Black & White (Yin-Yang) Cookies

Despite these days of instant gratification via the internet, many of us still love our cookbooks.  One of my favorite cookbooks is “New York Cookbook: From Pelham Bay to Park Avenue, Firehouses to Four-Star Restaurants” by Molly O’Neill.  It is chock filled with New York stories and personality.

In every New York or New Jersey deli you will find a Yin-Yang or Black ‘n White cookie. This recipe comes from Zabar’s and is included in the New York Cookbook.  Enjoy!

 

Zabar’s Black & White (Yin-Yang) Cookies

Makes 2 dozen

Cookies:

1 ¾ cups granulated sugar

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened

4 large eggs

1 cup milk

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

¼ teaspoon lemon extract

2 ½ cups cake flour

2 ½ cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

 

Frosting

4 cups confectioners’ sugar

1/3 to ½ cup boiling water

1 ounce bittersweet chocolate

 

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Butter 2 baking
    sheets.
  2. Make the cookies: in a large mixing bowl combine
    the sugar and butter and mix by machine until fluffy. Add the eggs, milk and
    both vanilla and lemon extracts. Mix ‘til smooth
  3. In a medium bowl combine the flours, baking
    powder and salt. Stir ‘til mixed. Add the dry ingredients to the wet in
    batches, stirring well to combine. Using a soup spoon drop spoonfuls of the
    dough 2 inches apart on the buttered baking sheets. Bake ‘til the edges begin
    to brown (20-30 minutes).  Allow to cool
    completely
  4. Make the frosting by placing confectioners’
    sugar in a large bowl and gradually adding enough boiling water (stirring
    constantly) until mixture is thick and spreadable.
  5. Remove half the frosting and place in top half
    of a double boiler set over simmering water. Add the chocolate. Warm mixture
    while stirring until chocolate is melted and frosting is smooth. Remove from
    heat.
  6. With a brush, coat half the cookie with
    chocolate frosting and the other half with white frosting.
About Shawn Phillips

As someone who has relocated several times – buying and selling houses of my own for personal and investment purposes – I can easily put myself in my clients’ shoes. I know what I needed from my Realtors and I attempt to provide that or better for my clients. My family relocated to Charleston six years ago and my love for the city and the lifestyle is one I enjoy sharing with others. Prior to entering real estate in the Low Country I was a hospital administrator for many years in Charleston and New York City and was a Realtor in Sarasota, Florida. Leveraging my experience, I pride myself in providing outstanding client service, availability, personal touches, multi-faceted marketing, and skilled negotiations. The level of trust given to me by a client is the greatest compliment I receive as a professional. It is the foundation of my practice. My dedication to each and every client is evident before, during, and after the sale!
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Zabar’s Black & White (Yin-Yang) Cookies

  1. Caregiver says:

    Another great post from Shawn. Can’t wait to make these, and meant to purchase this book when it came out. Thanks for the reminder! Gin

Leave a Reply

