Help! I’ve Been Muggled!

One of the fun things about moving to a different part of the country or even the world is that one has the challenge of trying new things.  While Bob can no longer ski since we’ve moved to Florida (something he would have plenty of opportunities to do this year up north!), he has found a new hobby that can be done anywhere – geocaching!  Never heard of it?  Neither had we until lately.

We were walking in a local park in Nokomis when we came upon an elderly man who was searching through the bushes.  We thought he might have lost something so we stopped to ask if we could help him.  He laughed and explained that he was a geocacher.  This is a sporting activity enjoyed by almost 5 million people in the world. He described it as a high tech hide and seek game played in 100 countries and 7 continents.

Geochaching is a form of scavenger or treasure hunt accomplished with the use of a Global Positioning System (GPS).  Participants in this hide and seek small waterproof containers filled with a log book and sometimes little trinkets. These containers are the “caches”.   All of the caches are hidden outdoors so you have the fun of exploring new areas while searching for little treasures.  Once you find a cache, you share your experience online.  You may also trade trinkets.  There are 1.2 million caches all over the world and probably very near your own home!

Little did we know when we offered to help this man that we were “muggles” (non-geocachers) who had “muggled” him.  A muggle is a non-geocacher. Being muggled is either preventing a geocacher from secretly finding the cache or worse yet, is someone who vandalizes the cache.  There’s a whole terminology that goes with this game but that just adds to the fun.

This is a wonderful intergenerational activity to share with your kids.  It provides the excuse to get out of the house and into nature.  It doesn’t have to be strenuous as caches are hidden all over the place.  There was even one stuck to metal with magnets!

 If you are interested in learning more about this hobby, please visit the official site:  http://www.geocaching.com/ .

The pictures on this page are of places my husband has geocached.  He does it all the time and has done so all over Sarasota County.  There was even a cache in Siesta Key Village. 

Happy geocaching to you!

About Shawn Phillips

As someone who has relocated several times – buying and selling houses of my own for personal and investment purposes – I can easily put myself in my clients’ shoes. I know what I needed from my Realtors and I attempt to provide that or better for my clients. My family relocated to Charleston six years ago and my love for the city and the lifestyle is one I enjoy sharing with others. Prior to entering real estate in the Low Country I was a hospital administrator for many years in Charleston and New York City and was a Realtor in Sarasota, Florida. Leveraging my experience, I pride myself in providing outstanding client service, availability, personal touches, multi-faceted marketing, and skilled negotiations. The level of trust given to me by a client is the greatest compliment I receive as a professional. It is the foundation of my practice. My dedication to each and every client is evident before, during, and after the sale!
This entry was posted in Florida, Retirement/Reinvention and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

