The American Dream is Alive and Well in Sarasota

For your sweet moments….Dolce Italia! 

Recently a friend invited me to have an authentic Italian meal in the Gulf Gate section of Sarasota.  She warned me that the restaurant was small but charming and the food was “out of this world”.   The name of the restaurant is Dolce Italia and it is indeed a bit of sweet Italy. 

As we entered the restaurant  my friend  was greeted by an old friend and we were invited to share his table.   Soon the proprietors, Tiziana and Pippo (Felipe) came and joined us and while much was said in Italian I found that my background in Spanish helped considerably.

Tiziana and Pippo are from an Italian island.  After raising their 4 children, they left to the United States to make a better life for themselves and eventually their adult children. They have sunk everything into their little restaurant – heart, soul, and money.  Everything they serve is fresh and authentic – pasta from Naples, etc.

Tiziana and Pippo proceeded to serve us authentic Italian food that was heavenly!  There was so much that I had to take half home to the family. 

The Super Pippo Panini is incredible – mozzarella, prosciutto, tomatoes and mayo all nestled between two pieces of delicious Italian rolls.  The desserts were difficult to choose from so we shared a couple and had fragrant and non-bitter Italian espresso. 

It wasn’t long before I brought the family there for dinner.  I had the most delicious spaghetti Putanesca I’ve ever had!

I highly encourage you to visit this lovely couple and help them achieve the American Dream.  You will be glad you did!  They are located on 6606 Superior Avenue, Sarasota, FL 34231.  It’s right off Gulf Gate and Tamiami.  Their number is 941-921-7007.  Tell them Shawn sent you!

About Shawn Phillips

As someone who has relocated several times – buying and selling houses of my own for personal and investment purposes – I can easily put myself in my clients’ shoes. I know what I needed from my Realtors and I attempt to provide that or better for my clients. My family relocated to Charleston six years ago and my love for the city and the lifestyle is one I enjoy sharing with others. Prior to entering real estate in the Low Country I was a hospital administrator for many years in Charleston and New York City and was a Realtor in Sarasota, Florida. Leveraging my experience, I pride myself in providing outstanding client service, availability, personal touches, multi-faceted marketing, and skilled negotiations. The level of trust given to me by a client is the greatest compliment I receive as a professional. It is the foundation of my practice. My dedication to each and every client is evident before, during, and after the sale!
This entry was posted in Accommodations and Restaurants, Florida and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The American Dream is Alive and Well in Sarasota

  1. Mary Roush says:

    Mouth watering here. (And Italian is not my favorite cuisine). M-m-m-m. I hope you will help keep them in business.

  2. B. Nepi says:

    Dolce Italia has become one of our favorite haunts for eating great homemade Italian cuisine and unusual sweets that we have not tasted anywhere else in Sarasota. Tizania and Pepo make you feel very welcome….as if you have just walked into their home/kitchen. The expresso and cappucino are great!

  3. On the way there again tonight!

Leave a Reply

