In the Mood for Baking? Try Apple Banana Walnut Bread

I always have a bowl of fruit on my dining table.  Last night I noticed a couple of bananas and apples were getting over ripe.  That gave me the idea to do a bit of baking  after church today.  I’m not much into sweet breads except for Apple Banana Walnut Bread. I made two loaves – one for us and the other for a neighbor who has been friendly.  What better way to get to know someone than to knock on their door with a freshly made sweet bread in hand? 

We all have favorite tools of the trade.  I love the color red and have a couple of appliances that I’ve splurged on in this color.  I grabbed the ingredients and went for my favorite hand mixer – a Kitchenaid Artisan Mixer with 7 speeds. 


Only problem is I realized that like a dufus I had given away another  mixer to charity with the wrong set of beaters!  Not a great start.  Ok, I can order replacement beaters online but in the meantime I had to pull out my Kitchenaid Standing Mixer. 

I had forgotten how dense this dough is.  It was probably best to use the standing mixer.  If your hand mixer isn’t up to it, you may need to fold in the dry ingredients by hand. 

The bread is moist, sweet, and very addictive.  I bet my neighbor will enjoy it and so will you.

Banana Apple Walnut Bread

4 cups sifted flour
4 ½ teaspoons double acting baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

½ teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups butter
2 cups brown sugar
4 eggs
2 very ripe large bananas – chunks
2 large apple, cut into small chunks
1/2 cup chopped walnuts

 Preheat  oven to 350 degrees.

 Blend together brown sugar and butter.  Add eggs and blend in.   Add banana and apple chunks and blend well.  Add  baking powder, vanilla, salt and cinnamon and blend in.  Finally blend in flour in batches (don’t add all at once or it won’t mix.)  Fold in chopped walnuts

 Spoon the batter into two greased bread pans. Bake loaves for about 1 hour or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the top of the loaf comes out clean. Cool before slicing (can be a bit warm).

About Shawn Phillips

As someone who has relocated several times – buying and selling houses of my own for personal and investment purposes – I can easily put myself in my clients’ shoes. I know what I needed from my Realtors and I attempt to provide that or better for my clients. My family relocated to Charleston six years ago and my love for the city and the lifestyle is one I enjoy sharing with others. Prior to entering real estate in the Low Country I was a hospital administrator for many years in Charleston and New York City and was a Realtor in Sarasota, Florida. Leveraging my experience, I pride myself in providing outstanding client service, availability, personal touches, multi-faceted marketing, and skilled negotiations. The level of trust given to me by a client is the greatest compliment I receive as a professional. It is the foundation of my practice. My dedication to each and every client is evident before, during, and after the sale!
This entry was posted in Bob Wilson Photos, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In the Mood for Baking? Try Apple Banana Walnut Bread

  1. Marie says:

    OMG, Shawn, we have the same red stand mixer, LOL! I have all the KitchenAid red pots and pans too, as well as my garage sale Le Creuset and a few cast iron pans. I’m saving for the professional Paderno cookware, but my bright red KitchenAid stand mixer is my baby.

    I love quick breads but I love my chocolate chip Irish soda bread recipe even more (no mixer required).

    You have great taste. Just like moi.

  2. It stands to reason that “reds” would love red!

Leave a Reply

