Real Men Do Eat Chorizo Quiche (at least in Florida)

We are settling into our new home in Nokomis, Florida.  All the boxes in the house are unpacked and pictures are up on the walls.  While we still have treasures that haven’t found their permanent places, we can finally feel at home.  We have lived in 4 places during the past year and I’ve taken an oath not to move again for….well a long, long time! 

We have been exploring the area and taking pictures of the Venice jetty and nearby beach.  The weather has been perfect almost every day – delightful in the early morning and evening when the heat abates.  We plan our days, working inside when it’s hot outside and playing when it’s cooler. 

Venice and Nokomis beaches are only 5-10 minutes away by car and we go frequently.  The jetty is a perfect vantage point for boats, wildlife, sunbathers, and fishermen. 

Most fish with poles but a few use nets.  I enjoy watching those fishermen the best! The net fishermen harken back to other cultures and places.  They can either fish from the rocks or walk into the warm salty broth of the Gulf and stand there waist deep.  The men take their shirts off and their brown skin glimmers in the sun as they toss the nets and pull them in.

Everywhere one goes in this area there are birds.  This is the season of young ones and so there are families of birds strutting around, picking at the abundant insect life at their feet.  It’s funny to see ibises hanging out on the trees.  They are all over the place and tonight we had 4 or 5 scrounging around in our backyard.  We live in an area of great open spaces.  Every house has at least an acre of land and the sandhill cranes have the run of the place.  They are tall and are distinctive not for their rather bland brownish grey bodies but for their red hats. 

The beaches are crowded on the weekends but during the week they less inhabited.  These pictures were taken on a Saturday but even so it’s not all that populous.  At least not by California and New Jersey shore comparisons.

I got a kick out of these women relaxing in the water.

Since the house is cool I feel free to cook soups, stews, and even bake. 

I love our new kitchen – spacious and modern with new appliances.  It will be a challenge to learn how to cook on an electric range but so far it has been easier than I thought.

This evening I decided to mix a couple of cultures – French and Mexican – and created a Chorizo Quiche for dinner.  It not only looks great, it tastes delicious!  The spicy chorizo blends perfectly with the egg and cheese.  It can be eaten hot or cold but I prefer it at least warm.  (Residents of the Southwest will have no difficulty obtaining chorizo.  I’ve found Walmart tends to carry it in a number of states. )

Chorizo Quiche

 1 deep dish pie crust

1/4 cup onion finely chopped

1 cup Monterey Jack cheese shredded

½ cup sharp Cheddar cheese shredded

1/4  cup cooked chorizo crumbled and well drained

7 eggs

1- cup heavy cream

½  teaspoon cumin

½  teaspoon salt

Spread cooked and drained chorizo at bottom of pie crust. Saute onions and spread them on chorizo.  Sprinkle cheese over chorizo and onions. Beat eggs and cream together. Add cumin and salt and mix in. Pour into pie shell. Bake on a cookie sheet (to catch spills) for 1 hour at 350 degrees until quiche is rounded and nicely browned.  Cook slowly so quiche doesn’t fall.  Serve with a green salad.

 

 

About Shawn Phillips

As someone who has relocated several times – buying and selling houses of my own for personal and investment purposes – I can easily put myself in my clients’ shoes. I know what I needed from my Realtors and I attempt to provide that or better for my clients. My family relocated to Charleston six years ago and my love for the city and the lifestyle is one I enjoy sharing with others. Prior to entering real estate in the Low Country I was a hospital administrator for many years in Charleston and New York City and was a Realtor in Sarasota, Florida. Leveraging my experience, I pride myself in providing outstanding client service, availability, personal touches, multi-faceted marketing, and skilled negotiations. The level of trust given to me by a client is the greatest compliment I receive as a professional. It is the foundation of my practice. My dedication to each and every client is evident before, during, and after the sale!
This entry was posted in Bob Wilson Photos, Recipes, Things to Do in Downeast Maine and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

