Quintessential Tapas – Tortilla Espanola (Spanish Omelet)

Tortilla Espanola roughly translates into Spanish omelet.  It is one of the mainstays in my cooking repetoire. One can hardly go wrong with a dish that calls for potatoes and eggs!   I am told that in Spain one can go to a bar and order drinks and the tapas are free.  Tapas (or appetizers) can be a variety of things but frequently tortilla Espanola is on the menu. 

You may eat tortilla Espanola for breakfast or dinner or appetizers.  In my home it is typically served with milanesa (breaded fried steak) and an avocado onion salad (previously posted on this site under recipes).  Tortilla Expanola can be served with lemon wedges, catsup, a tomato-onion-pepper sauce, mayonnaise, or eaten as it is.  It can be eaten hot, room temperature, or even cold. 

Tortilla Espanola or Tortilla Patata (Spanish Omelet or Potato Omelet)

1 cup olive oil

1 cup vegetable or canola oil

5 medium baking potatoes, peeled, sliced and salted

½ onion chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

5 eggs

1/2 teaspoon seasoning salt

Heat the oils in a 9-inch skillet and add the potato slices.  Cook, turning occasionally, over medium heat for 5 minutes. Add the onions and garlic and cook until the potatoes are tender and golden brown. Drain oil into a container by holding a skillet lid to the edge so the potatoes don’t escape. I suggest having the container in the sink in case you spill some. You will have a bit of oil left at the bottom. Put the skillet back on the burner and spread the potatoes out evenly.

Beat the eggs with the seasoning salt. Pour the egg mixture evenly over the potatoes. Lower the heat to medium and continue to cook, shaking the pan frequently, until mixture is half set.

Use a plate to cover the skillet and invert the omelet away from the hand holding the plate. . Slide the omelet back into the skillet on its uncooked side.  Cook until it is completely set.  Now use a plate to cover the skillet and invert the omelet on it.  It is ready to serve.  Cut it into wedges.

Note: I sometimes add chopped tomato to the egg mixture for variation. 

 

About Shawn Phillips

As someone who has relocated several times – buying and selling houses of my own for personal and investment purposes – I can easily put myself in my clients’ shoes. I know what I needed from my Realtors and I attempt to provide that or better for my clients. My family relocated to Charleston six years ago and my love for the city and the lifestyle is one I enjoy sharing with others. Prior to entering real estate in the Low Country I was a hospital administrator for many years in Charleston and New York City and was a Realtor in Sarasota, Florida. Leveraging my experience, I pride myself in providing outstanding client service, availability, personal touches, multi-faceted marketing, and skilled negotiations. The level of trust given to me by a client is the greatest compliment I receive as a professional. It is the foundation of my practice. My dedication to each and every client is evident before, during, and after the sale!
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quintessential Tapas – Tortilla Espanola (Spanish Omelet)

  1. Elisabeth says:

    I’m making something similar which we call “Farmer’s omelet” here in Norway.
    I add bacon or sausage slices, and use chopped chives, spring onions or leek, or all of them, instead of onions and garlic. I eat it with slices of bread.
    I usually eat it for lunch, but when money’s running low, I use it for dinner too. :o)

Leave a Reply

