Cheddar-Chives Scones

I love scones.  When we lived in Westwood, NJ there was a scone shop in town and I was introduced to a variety of scones that could easily go with a soup and salad type lunch. 

This is a delicious, fluffy, savory scone recipe that can be served for breakfast or any meal.  They are deceptively easy to make and receive guaranteed rave reviews.  If you prefer, you may substitute other herbs for chives.  I’ve heard of people adding rosemary or basil. Other people like to add some crispy crumbled bacon to the dough.  I don’t think you can go wrong as long as you use high quality cheese. 

Cheddar-chives Scones

 (approximately 15 scones)

Ingredients

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 2  tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 cup cold unsalted butter cut into ¼ inch cubes
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped fresh chives
  • 5 oz extra-sharp Cheddar, coarsely grated (1 1/2 cups) – use high quality cheese
  • 1 cups heavy cream plus additional for brushing

 Preparation

Preheat oven to 400°F.

If you have a food processor: Add dry ingredients to food processor. Pulse cold butter into dry ingredients to form pea sized crumbs. Pulse in egg and egg yolk.  Pulse in heavy cream (3-4 pulses). Pulse in cheddar cheese and chives (2 pulses).

If you don’t have a food processor: Whisk together flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt. Using your fingers or pastry cutter, mix the butter in until you have little “peas”.  Mix in the egg and egg yolk. Add chives and Cheddar, tossing to combine. Stir in cream with a fork.

Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead 8 times with floured hands. Using a floured rolling pin, roll dough to ¼” thick (should form a round disk 10-12” wide).  Use a floured glass, a round cookie cutter or a biscuit cutter to cut  scones.

Arrange scones about 1/2 inch apart on an ungreased large baking sheet. Brush the top of the scones with a bit of heavy cream. Bake in middle of oven until golden brown, about 20-25 minutes until they are a golden brown.   

 Note: If you like a bit of a tangy taste, you can use 1/2 cup buttermilk and 1/2 cup heavy cream in place of a full cup of heavy cream.

About Shawn Phillips

As someone who has relocated several times – buying and selling houses of my own for personal and investment purposes – I can easily put myself in my clients’ shoes. I know what I needed from my Realtors and I attempt to provide that or better for my clients. My family relocated to Charleston six years ago and my love for the city and the lifestyle is one I enjoy sharing with others. Prior to entering real estate in the Low Country I was a hospital administrator for many years in Charleston and New York City and was a Realtor in Sarasota, Florida. Leveraging my experience, I pride myself in providing outstanding client service, availability, personal touches, multi-faceted marketing, and skilled negotiations. The level of trust given to me by a client is the greatest compliment I receive as a professional. It is the foundation of my practice. My dedication to each and every client is evident before, during, and after the sale!
This entry was posted in Recipes, Retirement/Reinvention and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cheddar-Chives Scones

  1. Mary Roush says:

    This sure sounds delicious! I am definately going to try this. I can just imagine splitting them open and inserting some crisp bacon (or even HORRORS!–but SO good, some fried-crispy bacon Spam).

  2. Marie says:

    Yum! Will try these for sure this week. We made homemade calzones last night. I ate the whole thing!

    Did you see my garden pics? Take a gander:

    http://picasaweb.google.com/mariemonteux/QuiteContrary#

  3. JeanC says:

    Those look yummy. Have to give them a try one of these days. I haven’t made scones before, but I do love eating them 😀

Leave a Reply

