Mango Smoothie

Who can resist the sweet tropical taste of mango?  We are all being encouraged to eat at least 3-4 cups of fruits and vegetables per day.  This is a refreshing smoothie, perfect for breakfast or as an afternoon snack and a great way to include a fruit into your diet.   Children and adults love smoothies and it’s chock filled with vitamins.  I never add ice cream to a smoothie but do add yogurt.  Mango and yogurt are the makings of the traditional Indian lassi. 

I’m posting two variations – with and without yogurt. Since mangos vary in sweetness, the amount of honey used will vary. 

These are for large single servings. 

Mango Banana Smoothie

1/2 cup orange juice

1 mango, sliced

1 banana

1/2 cup ice

Honey to taste

Put the orange juice and mango in a blender or food processer and blend or process until the liquid is smooth. Add the banana and ice.  Blend or process again. Taste the mixture and add up to 1/8 cup honey.  If  mixture is too thick, add a bit more orange juice.  The mixture should be cremey but not chunky.  Pour and drink immediately.

Mango Yogurt Smoothie (aka Mango Lassi)

1 mango, sliced

1 cup plain yogurt

Honey to taste (up to 1/4 cup)

1 cup ice

Put all ingredients in the blender or food processer. Blend until smooth. Add 1/8 cup honey. Blend and taste.  Add more honey if desired.  Serve immediately.

About Shawn Phillips

As someone who has relocated several times – buying and selling houses of my own for personal and investment purposes – I can easily put myself in my clients’ shoes. I know what I needed from my Realtors and I attempt to provide that or better for my clients. My family relocated to Charleston six years ago and my love for the city and the lifestyle is one I enjoy sharing with others. Prior to entering real estate in the Low Country I was a hospital administrator for many years in Charleston and New York City and was a Realtor in Sarasota, Florida. Leveraging my experience, I pride myself in providing outstanding client service, availability, personal touches, multi-faceted marketing, and skilled negotiations. The level of trust given to me by a client is the greatest compliment I receive as a professional. It is the foundation of my practice. My dedication to each and every client is evident before, during, and after the sale!
This entry was posted in Recipes, Retirement/Reinvention. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mango Smoothie

  1. Once you start smoothies, they are addicting. Here is one favored by Dr. Oz for getting healthy and losing weight:

    The Quick Magical Breakfast Blaster
    2 servings, 136 calories per serving

    1 scoop (1/3 cup) Soy protein (like Nature’s Plus Spiru-Tein)
    1/2 tablespoon flaxseed oil
    1/4 cup frozen blueberries
    1/2 large ripe banana (or other fruits of your choice)
    1/2 tablespoon apple juice concentrate or honey
    1 teaspoon Psyillium seed husks

    Peel banana; break into chunks. Put all ingredients in a blender. Add 12 ounces of water and ice, as well as powdered vitamins. Cover, blend until fairly smooth.

Leave a Reply

