Pollo (Chicken) Enchiladas Suizas

As my earlier post will attest, we love Mexican food.  This is one of my favorite recipes.   I think you will love it too!

Easy Pollo (Chicken) Enchiladas Suizas

The word “suizas” means Swiss style and this Mexican recipe combines the traditional flavors of the cuisine with a rich sauce.  It’s the perfect way to use up leftover chicken.  This is a crowd pleaser for 4-6 people.  Serve it with a green salad, Spanish rice and refried beans, and beer.  Bowls of chopped green onion, chopped cilantro, and sour cream should accompany the food so that each may add according to their personal tastes.  This is a tangy and flavorful comfort food.  The sour and whipped cream help to mellow the heat of the Jalapeno peppers.   It’s delicious!

Ingredients:

2-28 ounce cans of whole tomatoes, drained

2 Jalapeno peppers, cored and remove the stems

1-2 Tablespoons oil

1 medium onion, chopped

2 cups chicken broth (natural, no MSG)

½ cup heavy whipping cream

½ cup sour cream

2 cups shredded Monterey Jack or mild cheddar cheese (I like half and half)

2 cups shredded chicken

1 pack of 12 corn tortillas

Instructions: 

Cook the jalapeno peppers for five minutes on a dry skillet, turning frequently until they are soft and kind of splotchy-black. Throw them in a blender or food processor with the drained tomatoes and puree.  Heat the 1 ½ tablespoons of oil in a sauce pan or Dutch oven and throw the onions in. Cook the onions for 6-7 minutes until they are translucent and then add the tomato-pepper puree.  Simmer for  15 minutes and then add the chicken broth.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Simmer  the sauce covered for another 10 minutes.  Stir in the whipping cream and sour cream and turn the heat off.  Taste the sauce for seasoning. You may want to add up to ½ teaspoon salt but this depends on the saltiness of the cheese and the broth.

Pour 1 cup sauce on the bottom of a 13” x 9” casserole (baking) dish.  Place the tortillas on a baking sheet and lightly brush them with the remaining  oil.  Bake for 3 minutes and then stack them and wrap them in a towel to keep warm and pliable.

Take a tortilla and 1/12 of the chicken. Wrap the chicken in the tortilla and place it seam down on the sauce in the baking dish.  Continue with the remaining 11 tortillas and rest of chicken, lining them all up in the dish.  Pour rest of sauce over them and spread the cheese. 

Bake for 15 minutes and serve immediately.

About Shawn Phillips

As someone who has relocated several times – buying and selling houses of my own for personal and investment purposes – I can easily put myself in my clients’ shoes. I know what I needed from my Realtors and I attempt to provide that or better for my clients. My family relocated to Charleston six years ago and my love for the city and the lifestyle is one I enjoy sharing with others. Prior to entering real estate in the Low Country I was a hospital administrator for many years in Charleston and New York City and was a Realtor in Sarasota, Florida. Leveraging my experience, I pride myself in providing outstanding client service, availability, personal touches, multi-faceted marketing, and skilled negotiations. The level of trust given to me by a client is the greatest compliment I receive as a professional. It is the foundation of my practice. My dedication to each and every client is evident before, during, and after the sale!
This entry was posted in Recipes, Retirement/Reinvention and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pollo (Chicken) Enchiladas Suizas

  1. Pingback: Spicy Bean Dip

  2. Mary Roush says:

    Can’t wait to try this. (I have a Post-It that says, PRINT)
    Sounds delicious. Keep those favorite recipes coming!

Leave a Reply

