A Mystery, Wicked Good Blueberry Coffee Cake, and a B&B

My favorite book genre are whodunits and I love to cook.  Can there be anything better than combining the two?  Karen MacInerney writes the Grey Whale Inn series set on Cranberry Island.  The protagonist trades in Texas (where Ms MacInerney lives) for a Bed and Breakfast Inn on the Maine coast.  It’s a fun read and the recipes are delicious.  Wicked Good Blueberry Coffee Cake is my favorite and is found in the book that earned her the Agatha Christie Award – “Murder on the Rocks”. I don’t know if they serve blueberry coffee cake but can attest that no inn has a better view than our own Inn on Ferry Landing.

Wicked Good Blueberry Coffee Cake

‘I have sold books just on this recipe,’ says Karen MacInerney, who sometimes takes the coffee cake, which looks like a buckle, to book signings of ‘Murder on the Rocks.’

1/2 cup butter or margarine

1 cup sugar

3 eggs, slightly beaten

1/2 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

2 cups flour

1 cup sour cream or vanilla yogurt

2 cups blueberries (fresh or frozen)

1 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup butter

1/4 cup flour

Cream 1/2 cup butter and sugar. Add next five ingredients. Add 2 cups of flour and sour cream (or yogurt) alternately to egg mixture, mixing with a spoon. Fold in blueberries. Pour mixture into greased 9-by-13-inch baking pan. In a separate bowl, cream brown sugar and remaining 1/4 cup butter. Add flour to get a semidry mixture. Spread on top of batter. Bake in 350-degree oven for 30-40 minutes or until center is set.  (Note: If you use a spring form pan, bake for 1 hour.)

There is a bed and breakfast on Deer Isle that has the most magnificent view of the water over Eggemoggin Reach – the Inn at Ferry Landing.  Bob and I often drive to the cul-de-sac and park to view the birds, the boats passing by, and famous suspension bridge.  There is a field there that is the back of the Scott’s Landing Preserve where one can bird watch or even take part in an archaeological dig of the 2,000 year old artifacts from the landing’s Paleo-Indian ancestors.   The B&B is run by a musician and a photographer and while I’ve not stayed there, I’ve heard wonderful things about this lodging.  You can learn more by going to http://www.ferrylanding.com/ .

About Shawn Phillips

As someone who has relocated several times – buying and selling houses of my own for personal and investment purposes – I can easily put myself in my clients’ shoes. I know what I needed from my Realtors and I attempt to provide that or better for my clients. My family relocated to Charleston six years ago and my love for the city and the lifestyle is one I enjoy sharing with others. Prior to entering real estate in the Low Country I was a hospital administrator for many years in Charleston and New York City and was a Realtor in Sarasota, Florida. Leveraging my experience, I pride myself in providing outstanding client service, availability, personal touches, multi-faceted marketing, and skilled negotiations. The level of trust given to me by a client is the greatest compliment I receive as a professional. It is the foundation of my practice. My dedication to each and every client is evident before, during, and after the sale!
This entry was posted in Recipes, Things to Do in Downeast Maine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

