Chicken Soup with Dumplings – The perfect comfort food

These chilly rainy/snowy days are perfect for soup making.  We have had just about every kind of weather today from winds, to snow, to rain, to some form of precipitation that is somewhere between rain and snow and accompanied by wind.  It’s time for the comfort of chicken soup with dumplings.  I don’t always have the time or inclination to spend time on preparation.  This recipe was one I concocted to be able to serve something within an hour after arriving home from work  but it’s so tasty that I find I return to it even when I have leisure.  I don’t believe there is anything more satisfying than a chicken and vegetable soup unless it is one with dumplings.  I can easily prepare this soup for items I always have on hand and it is always well received.  I have a number of chicken soup recipes that are standards and this one is one of the best.  It is a perfect warm  up soup on those days when you just can’t fight off the chill.  It is also good if you are feeling under the weather.  Of course you don’t have to find an excuse to eat it.  I like it during any time of the year.

Easy Chicken Soup with Dumplings

Serves 2-4

Ingredients:

Half a chicken

32 Oz container of organic chicken broth (Pacific Natural Foods organic free range is my favorite)

3 carrots, peeled and sliced in ½-1” chunks

2 tomatoes chopped in ½” pieces

2 ribs celery, sliced into ½-1” chunks

½ onion chopped

3-4 cloves garlic, peeled and chopped

1 tablespoon Better than Bouillon chicken base

1 teaspoon sage  (double if fresh)

1 teaspoon thyme (double if fresh)

1 teaspoon rosemary (double if fresh)

1/4 teaspoon Bell’s Poultry seasoning

1 teaspoon Spike seasoning

1 ¼ cup Bisquick

1/3-1/2 cup milk

Preparation:

Put chicken, broth, chopped carrots, celery, tomatoes, onion, herbs, seasonings, and garlic in a pot. Cover it and cook for 30 minutes until the meat is starting to fall off the bones. Stir together the Bisquick and milk in a small bowl until it’s sticky and no too loose. Drop large spoonfuls of the Bisquick mixture into the boiling soup. Cook for 10 minutes uncovered. Cover the pot and cook for another ten minutes.

About Shawn Phillips

As someone who has relocated several times – buying and selling houses of my own for personal and investment purposes – I can easily put myself in my clients’ shoes. I know what I needed from my Realtors and I attempt to provide that or better for my clients. My family relocated to Charleston six years ago and my love for the city and the lifestyle is one I enjoy sharing with others. Prior to entering real estate in the Low Country I was a hospital administrator for many years in Charleston and New York City and was a Realtor in Sarasota, Florida. Leveraging my experience, I pride myself in providing outstanding client service, availability, personal touches, multi-faceted marketing, and skilled negotiations. The level of trust given to me by a client is the greatest compliment I receive as a professional. It is the foundation of my practice. My dedication to each and every client is evident before, during, and after the sale!
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken Soup with Dumplings – The perfect comfort food

  1. LOOKS DELICIOUS! Wish I could be there with you both to slurp it up. I’m enjoying it from afar though… xox

Leave a Reply

