Shrimp Ceviche (Ceviche de camarones)

Every Saturday for 10 weeks Bob and I pick up 5 pounds of freshly caught shrimp.  We then bring it home, refrigerate it overnight and on Sunday we have a shrimp peeling ritual.  I am told we get 3 lbs of eatable shrimp from this endeavor.  We’ve had shrimp omelets, shrimp scampi, shrimp in a seafood stew, and just plain boiled shrimp (which is surprisingly delicious).  Fresh Maine shrimp is sweet and is somewhat like eating a tiny lobster.  We’ve never had better.

Participating in this community event led to us landing on the front page of the local newspaper. http://www.islandadvantages.com/archives/2010/012110_stories/ia_shrimp_012110.html

On of my favorite ways to eat fish is ceviche.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with this delicacy, it consists of raw fish which is marinated in lime or lemon juice which “cooks” the fish until it turns white.  The acidic juice tones down the fishy taste.  It can be kept in a covered container for a week providing plenty of appetizers for the evening cocktail hour.

I decided to make this recipe with shrimp.  Delicious!

Ingredients:

2 bottles fresh lime juice

¼ cup orange juice

2-3  lbs peeled small shrimp

1/2 medium red (or white) onion cut into slices

1 cup chopped fresh cilantro

1 jalapeno pepper, deseeded and chopped

1 orange, red or yellow pepper, chopped

Salt to taste

Preparation:

Mix all ingredients in a bowl, cover and refrigerate for at least 24 hours (until the shrimp is a light pink, cooked look).  Stir once or twice to ensure the shrimp is all submerged in the lime-orange juice.

Use a slotted spoon to serve with lime slices for garnish, sliced avocado, and tortilla chips or your favorite crackers.  Some people enjoy adding chopped tomatoes on the plate. I don’t suggest adding it to the marinade until you are serving the shrimp or the tomatoes will be mushy.

Note: Some people prefer to lightly cook the shrimp prior to adding it to the marinade. While this isn’t traditional,  it works too. Just don’t overcook the shrimp or they will be rubbery.

About Shawn Phillips

As someone who has relocated several times – buying and selling houses of my own for personal and investment purposes – I can easily put myself in my clients’ shoes. I know what I needed from my Realtors and I attempt to provide that or better for my clients. My family relocated to Charleston six years ago and my love for the city and the lifestyle is one I enjoy sharing with others. Prior to entering real estate in the Low Country I was a hospital administrator for many years in Charleston and New York City and was a Realtor in Sarasota, Florida. Leveraging my experience, I pride myself in providing outstanding client service, availability, personal touches, multi-faceted marketing, and skilled negotiations. The level of trust given to me by a client is the greatest compliment I receive as a professional. It is the foundation of my practice. My dedication to each and every client is evident before, during, and after the sale!
This entry was posted in Community Relations, Recipes, Retirement/Reinvention, Things to Do in Downeast Maine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shrimp Ceviche (Ceviche de camarones)

  1. Eriic Phillips says:

    That sounds very deliscious. I could get used to shrimp everyday!

    • Another way to do this is to get some tilapia, slice it in bite sized pieces, and use the same marinade. That’s the way I typically made it in NJ as tilapia was always available. Just look for pieces that are white or cut away the darker pieces.

      Of course you can also use fresh lime juice….squeezing the limes. That’s even better but not always practical.

  2. I was asked to post this again…this time with the correct spelling of “ceviche”. So here it is! Spelled correctly or not, the dish is delightful.

Leave a Reply

