Moving and Grooving Island Style

 Our weekend on Deer Isle has started out with an abundance of interesting events and artistic and wilderness experiences.

Last night we went to the Isalos Fine Art Gallery in Stonington for the “Red Again” showing of many artists all utilizing one color.   http://www.isalosfineart.com     The word “isalos” is Greek for waterline and this is an apt name as it looks out on the amazing Stonington harbor. We made it to the reception and were able to meander through with what appeared to be half of the population of the island, enjoying the variety of artistic mediums and of course in honor of Valentine’s Day my favorite color – RED. I loved a picture of Fall blueberry bushes on granite rocks and a collage that peaked my interest. We got a kick out of a young woman who had made a shawl of the red diamonds and hearts playing cards. It was a hot time in Stonington. One resident joked that we were beginning to have as many offerings at New York City. In a two block span we had the gallery reception and Red Again showing, the Seasons of Stonington restaurant was open as was the tried and true Harbor Café , and the Stonington Opera House had a showing of “Up in the Air” with George Clooney. It was possible to attend a gallery reception, have drinks and dinner in one venue, dessert in another, and still see a movie. It boggles my brain!

Saving Seasons of Stonington for our 25th wedding anniversary on Tuesday, we opted to drive up to Lily’s for a light meal and an alcoholic beverage before driving home. We had a rather eclectic but satisfying meal. We started with a Chinese scallion crisps appetizer that satisfied our need for fatty crunch and salt. Bob ordered a Sam Adams Octoberfest beer (a little late for that but who’s judging) and I had one of the best wines I’ve had in years. It’s a pinot blanc by Valley of the Moon winery in California. http://www.valleyofthemoonwinery.com/main_scaled.html Bob continued traveling with a pork carnitas quesadilla and I had a smoked turkey/wild rice bowl of soup.

This morning Bob joined some neighbors and about 10 people from off island for a walk “Birding with Mike Little” sponsored by the Island Heritage Trust. http://www.islandheritagetrust.org/ He came back super enthused about seeing a bald eagle soar in and land at its nest. I didn’t realize that bald eagles build nests that can be up to 20’ tall and last for generations. The group of 15 went to three different places on Deer Isle. Mike Little is a resident eco-expert and a few of the residents were able to chip in identifying the hawks and ducks and other wildlife they spotted. One of our new friends Patty Heanssler mentioned that her 16 year old son had over 100 lobster traps and his own boat to one of the non-residents. “You can’t have a 16 year old son because you are too young,” he exclaimed. In typical Mainer humor she replied, “I’ll walk with you.”

While Bob was out identifying red tailed and rough legged hawks, I ran up to pick up our weekly allotment of shrimp and to stop by the Stonington library. I can’t quite understand why to go anywhere to look at wildlife when we can see hawks, bald eagles, woodpeckers, minks, and ducks from our deck.  Nope, I’m a bibliophile and I was off to fulfill my passion.  Although I had given away mountains of books before we moved to Maine, I still have more than 4 bookshelves filled. I’ve been promising myself to stop buying and start borrowing. There I met Vicki who moved to the island 2 years ago. Her husband is the resident physician at the Island Medical Center in Stonington and we found we had much in common. For instance she has a Masters in Hospital Administration too. The library is housed in one of the older Stonington houses and I am told that there is a gallery on the second floor with the best views on the island.

With a stack of books and a promise to return next week to continue our conversation, I took off for the Burnt Cove Market hoping to obtain some cilantro for a shrimp cerviche. Unfortunately that was the recipe of the week and earlier shrimp aficionados had snatched it all up. Luckily I had borrowed a “Bubba’s Shrimp Recipes” book by Forrest Gump at the library so I’ll have something else in my arsenal when it comes to tonight’s dinner. I did see some fennel which I will combine with sliced tomatoes with a lemon and olive oil dressing for a fresh tasting salad. The store wasn’t busy so the clerk and I had some time to talk about the unseasonably warm weather. Bob’s best friend John Caputo had remarked that he wasn’t used to so much snow in Barnegut, NJ and thought he better come up north for better weather. I love it!

I could not resist picking up a dozen pink roses to give to my sweetie. Valentine’s Day and a 25th wedding anniversary deserve some splurging! Then off to the post office to retrieve the mail from our box and a quick hello and chat with George the postmaster. It’s abundantly clear at this point that there’s no such thing as a quick errand. Everywhere I go people are friendly and willing to take time to make that all important human connection.

Bob and I finally met up at home, had a quick lunch and then off to the Pearson Legacy Gallery in Deer Isle. He will be submitting three of his flower photographs for the gallery’s “Forever in Bloom II” exhibition in March. The “Blooming Bash” reception will be held on March 11 and he needed some guidelines about size, framing, etc. This is a big deal everyone! It is the first time my extremely talented husband will actually publically exhibit his art.

This has been such an eventful day but it’s time to open up that shrimp cookbook and find ourselves a tasty Atkins diet appropriate dinner.

(Photos by Bob Wilson http://bobwilsonphotos.com/gallery.html )

About Shawn Phillips

As someone who has relocated several times – buying and selling houses of my own for personal and investment purposes – I can easily put myself in my clients’ shoes. I know what I needed from my Realtors and I attempt to provide that or better for my clients. My family relocated to Charleston six years ago and my love for the city and the lifestyle is one I enjoy sharing with others. Prior to entering real estate in the Low Country I was a hospital administrator for many years in Charleston and New York City and was a Realtor in Sarasota, Florida. Leveraging my experience, I pride myself in providing outstanding client service, availability, personal touches, multi-faceted marketing, and skilled negotiations. The level of trust given to me by a client is the greatest compliment I receive as a professional. It is the foundation of my practice. My dedication to each and every client is evident before, during, and after the sale!
This entry was posted in Bob Wilson Photos, Community Relations, Retirement/Reinvention, Things to Do in Downeast Maine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moving and Grooving Island Style

  1. Marie says:

    My brother-in-law has several photos of bald eagles, taken from a kayak on Taunton Bay. He also has one of a seal, taken up close and it’s just gorgeous. Is that one of Bob’s photos? It’s beautiful.

  2. carole mcdonald says:

    An early ‘Happy Annivesary’ to you! 25 years is indeed a ‘landmark’… a quarter century together… that is so cool. Doesn’t time fly when your having fun?

    Carole

Leave a Reply

