February is the Longest Month – have a lemon-lime bar

I don’t care what the calendar says.  Ever since I moved to the northeast from California I’ve been convinced that February is the longest month.  It’s been too long since the festivities of Christmas (or whatever holiday you  celebrate) and New Years.  Valentine’s Day is cute but honestly probably best left to young children.  St. Patrick’s Day is a blast but still to come.  While the days are becoming imperceptibly longer it still seems as though there are far too few hours of sunlight.  And it appears as though there are colder days during this month or maybe the thrill is gone and we are ready to put away our winter coats. By February we are already going through the mountain of gardening catalogs dreaming of the flowers and vegetables we will plant in late April or early May.   Nope, no doubt about it. February is the longest month.

This weekend we have two events that should warm us up inside and out.  Lily’s Cafe in Stonington is having a Valentine’s Day bash complete with all you can eat tapas, live music, and beer and wines.  I love Spanish food and being as our 25th anniversary is very soon, you bet we will be there breaking our diets and enjoying the good times.

We also have a long awaited event – the opening of The Seasons of Stonington Restaurant.   I join others in being thrilled that we will have another restaurant choice while we await the coming of Spring, the tourists, and the opening of the rest of the eateries.

One way to increase your intake of vitamin C and to fight off those long month February blues is to have a Lemon-lime Bar.  I enjoy the tart-sweet taste of this pudding like delicacy perched on a shortbread like crust.  It also seems that no matter what the season is, one can get plump and juice-filled lemons and limes.  This recipe is simple and delicious.

Lemon-Lime Bars
Adapted from The Barefoot Contessa Cookbook

For the crust:
1/2 pound unsalted butter, at room temperature

1/2 cup granulated sugar

2 cups flour

1/8 teaspoon kosher salt

Lemon-lime layer:
6 extra-large eggs at room temperature

3 cups granulated sugar

1 tablespoons grated lemon zest (2 to 3 lemons)

1 tablespoon grated lime zest (4-6 limes)

½  cup freshly squeezed lemon juice½ cup freshly squeezed lime juice

1 cup flour

Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting

Preheat the oven to 350°F and grease a 9 by 13 by 2-inch baking pan.

For the crust, cream the butter and sugar with an electric mixer fitted. Combine the flour and salt and, with the mixer on low, add to the butter until just mixed.  Press the dough into the greased pan.

Bake the crust for 15 to 20 minutes, until very lightly browned. Let cool on a wire rack. Leave the oven on.

For the lemon layer, whisk together the eggs, sugar, lemon and lime zests, lemon and lime juices, and flour. Pour over the crust and bake for 30 to 35 minutes (less if you are using the thinner topping), or about five minutes beyond the point where the filling is set. Let cool to room temperature.

Cut into triangles and dust with confectioners’ sugar.

Hey, between having these two festivities and the possibility of eating a lemon-lime bar maybe February isn’t so long after all.  I might just end up getting Bob a Valentine’s card!

About Shawn Phillips

As someone who has relocated several times – buying and selling houses of my own for personal and investment purposes – I can easily put myself in my clients’ shoes. I know what I needed from my Realtors and I attempt to provide that or better for my clients. My family relocated to Charleston six years ago and my love for the city and the lifestyle is one I enjoy sharing with others. Prior to entering real estate in the Low Country I was a hospital administrator for many years in Charleston and New York City and was a Realtor in Sarasota, Florida. Leveraging my experience, I pride myself in providing outstanding client service, availability, personal touches, multi-faceted marketing, and skilled negotiations. The level of trust given to me by a client is the greatest compliment I receive as a professional. It is the foundation of my practice. My dedication to each and every client is evident before, during, and after the sale!
This entry was posted in Accommodations and Restaurants, Recipes, Things to Do in Downeast Maine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to February is the Longest Month – have a lemon-lime bar

  1. Marie says:

    If you live above the 40th parallel (which we do), you are probably not getting enough Vitamin D. I take extra from September through the winter (2 400 D-3 IU’s). The winter sun is too weak, even if you were to be outside a lot. That’s why I make things like marrow broth in the winter. February is indeed a draggy month. Maybe you need some pampering with some rose geranium soap!

    Love lemon & lime bars. I get the Krusteaz mix but those suckers are hard to get out of the pan!

    Nice job w/the pics in between paragraphs, much easier on the eye.

Leave a Reply

