Let Them Eat Cake – Apple Cake!

I know many of you wonder what we could possibly find to do on a remote island in Maine with a population of approximately 2,000 inhabitants.  The answer is we are having an absolute blast.  We have met some interesting and open hearted people and there are more things to do here than one would imagine.  We have plenty of opportunities to bring something and I always bring something made of local produce (in this case apples).

For instance tonight we were invited over to some new friends’ house for a pre-theater dinner and get together with others from the Sunshine area of Deer Isle.  The Stegalls are an incredible couple and seem to be involved in almost every volunteer event.

I thought there would be a total of three couples and was surprised to see that there were closer to 20 people.  After we all went round robin introducing ourselves and where we lived, we lined up for a delicious repast.

Lael had cooked two cauldrons of delightful homemade soups and there were delicious loaves of hearth baked bread that are available only on Fridays on the island.  I saw cheeses and smoked salmon and any number of sweets.

My contribution to the evening was something that has become my signature dish on the island – Sonia’s Apple Cake.  (Warning: I received two marriage proposals tonight after they had a piece of this delicacy!)

After eating dessert, we all rushed to the play – Brilliant Traces.  Oh what fun this play was!  So much energy and humor.  I love the fact the Stonington Opera House( http://www.operahousearts.org/index.php) is now open all year round.  The opera house was originally built in 1839 as a dance hall and it has been through many renditions.  It had been abandoned for several years before it was lovingly restored in 1999.

We are fortunate to have this venue. There’s something going on every weekend.  We attend movies, go to concerts and dances, and this live play was a real treat.

All in all it was a perfect evening and I’m still smiling.

Credit for the delectable cake recipe comes from my dear friend Sonia Grullon.  Sonia and I were neighbors in New Jersey.  We became fast friends and “chosen sisters” raising our children and having dinner together almost every night.  She has moved back to island of her birth, the Dominican Republic and yet we still speak with each other at least weekly.  She’s opening up a bakery soon and I’m sure it will be a hit!

I am a good cook but not a great baker.  There are only two things I can bake that always turn out well – lemon bars and Sonia’s Infamous Apple Cake.  Believe me, if I can do this then anyone can!

I promised everyone at the dinner to post this recipe:

Sonia’s  Infamous Apple Cake

Cook time: 1 hour 20 minutes

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
1 cup white sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1 bar salted butter
2 whole eggs
8 small Granny Smith apples (Note: I actually use 4 large MacIntosh and it’s perfect)
2 Tbs brown sugar.
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon.
Juice of 1/2 a lemon.

Preparation:

Cream butter add sugar, then the 2 eggs one at the time. Cream well.
Add flour sifted with baking powder. It is a stiff batter.

On a 9 inches round spring mold, buttered and flowered, spread the cake batter.

Peel apples, core them cut them in 8 wedges and sprinkle with the lemon juice. (I tend to slide the apples a bit thinner and this works too.)

Place the apple wedges on top of batter, going around the perimeter then the center of mold. Push the apples a bit into the batter so they won’t “float”.
Sprinkle with the brown sugar mixed with the cinnamon.

Bake in pre-heated oven at 350 F for 1 hour

Frosting:

1 bar salted butter
1 cup white sugar
2 whole eggs

While the cake is baking, cream butter sugar and eggs and reserve mixture.

When cake is baked, reduce heat to 325 F , pull shelve out and add creamed frosting on top. Bake for an additional 15 to 20 minutes or until golden.

Note to Ron Stegall:  I lied when I said there was no butter, sugar or eggs in this cake.  It IS as decadent as it tastes.  LOL

About Shawn Phillips

As someone who has relocated several times – buying and selling houses of my own for personal and investment purposes – I can easily put myself in my clients’ shoes. I know what I needed from my Realtors and I attempt to provide that or better for my clients. My family relocated to Charleston six years ago and my love for the city and the lifestyle is one I enjoy sharing with others. Prior to entering real estate in the Low Country I was a hospital administrator for many years in Charleston and New York City and was a Realtor in Sarasota, Florida. Leveraging my experience, I pride myself in providing outstanding client service, availability, personal touches, multi-faceted marketing, and skilled negotiations. The level of trust given to me by a client is the greatest compliment I receive as a professional. It is the foundation of my practice. My dedication to each and every client is evident before, during, and after the sale!
This entry was posted in Community Relations, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Let Them Eat Cake – Apple Cake!

  1. Marie says:

    Looks scrumptious. Unfortunately, I am backing away from such delights right now, but will definitely make this if I’m ever asked to bring something somewhere. So I can get away with eating one piece instead of half of it.

  2. This recipe is always a crowd pleaser. It’s simple and delicious. But no, I could not eat it last night but it was almost as delicious to watch everyone else fall in love with it!

  3. Joanne Parisi says:

    Hi Shawn,

    I’m loving your blogs and am living on Deer Isle again vicariously through them. They are refreshing and bring back great memories for me. The apple cake looks scrumptious and I’ll add it to my “pot luck” repetoire. Always knew you’d integrate well on Deer Isle, Bravo!

Leave a Reply

