Scalloped Scallops

During the winter some of the fisherman on Deer Isle rig up their boats, brave the frigid seas and bring back scallops.  It’s not unusual to see a pick up truck with the back open and a sign advertising their fresh catch of scallops and fish along side one of the better traveled roads.  The seafood is fresh, local, inexpensive, and purchasing it helps a local to survive during the cold months.

This recipe is a take off from the Southern delicacy of scalloped oysters recipe found in Saveur Magazine.  It can be served  as a “company dish” but there’s no need to save it for a special occasion.  This plus a Caesar’s salad (consisting of romaine lettuce, croutons, shredded asiago cheese, and your favorite Caesar dressing) makes for a delicious dinner.  I would add a bottle of chilled white wine.  It doesn’t get better than this!

Scalloped Scallops

Cook time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

¼ lbs saltines (approximately 2 cups crushed)

4 tablespoons melted butter

1 tablespoon solid butter

2 cups scallops

1 cup cream

Preparation:

1. Preheat oven to 350°. Butter a small baking dish, about 8″ × 8″. Crush saltines into small pieces with a rolling pin or the bottom of a pan, to fill about 2 cups.

2. Spread one-third of the cracker crumbs in the bottom of the dish. Pour in half of the oysters and mix into crackers a bit with fingertips, then drizzle in 2 tbsp. of the melted butter. Repeat this process, ending with the last of the crackers. Slowly pour cream along edges of the dish; dot with the chilled butter. Bake 25–30 minutes, and brown under broiler for 3 minutes.  Serves 6.

NOTE:  I like spicey, strongly flavored food. This is good but a bit bland.  I would serve it either with wedges of lemon or maybe sprinkle some paprika on top….or both.  But it’s rich and delicious!

About Shawn Phillips

As someone who has relocated several times – buying and selling houses of my own for personal and investment purposes – I can easily put myself in my clients’ shoes. I know what I needed from my Realtors and I attempt to provide that or better for my clients. My family relocated to Charleston six years ago and my love for the city and the lifestyle is one I enjoy sharing with others. Prior to entering real estate in the Low Country I was a hospital administrator for many years in Charleston and New York City and was a Realtor in Sarasota, Florida. Leveraging my experience, I pride myself in providing outstanding client service, availability, personal touches, multi-faceted marketing, and skilled negotiations. The level of trust given to me by a client is the greatest compliment I receive as a professional. It is the foundation of my practice. My dedication to each and every client is evident before, during, and after the sale!
This entry was posted in Community Relations, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Scalloped Scallops

  1. Marie says:

    I love scallops! We made the chowder last night and it was wonderful. I had more for breakfast.

  2. witchypoo says:

    I love scallops so much I have been known to eat fresh ones raw. If cooking them, my fave method is to caramelize the butter and fry those puppies, then slap anyone who tries to lick the pan before I can get to it.

Leave a Reply

