Dreaming a New Life

Like any significant and grand change in our lives be it a career choice, marriage, starting a family, or starting a hobby – it started with a dream.   In late 2001 the tragedy of 9/11 spurred us to do the same as many others were doing, re-evaluate our lives in terms of priorities and what-ifs.  It was a real wake-up call that it was time to reflect on the past and make improvements in the now.

We started envisioning a life that included living on the ocean, purchasing over an acre of land and building our dream house on it, being able to sail, and living in a small down to earth community that included people from all walks of life.   Since we were living in New Jersey and working in New York City, we limited our search to coastal areas on the east coast of the United States.   We were comfortably middle-class but not wealthy, with a mortgage on our modest house and two children left to put through college.

I told you it was a dream. However despite obstacles, we accomplished it.  Today we live in a modern and spacious, elegant but simple three bedroom house nestled in 4 acres of secluded, wooded property on a picturesque warm tidal swimming cove of the Sunshine area of Deer Isle, Maine only 20 minutes from the fishing village of Stonington.

While we were looking for a place to eventually retire to, we also wanted a place that would be the hub of family vacations. A place where we could enjoy the attributes of the ocean – beach, sailing, kayaking, hiking, and seeing wildlife.  A condo or a timeshare wasn’t going to cut it.  We needed a vacation spot within a community where we could partake of the community life albeit only a few weeks each year.

And so started one of the great adventures of our lives, one we shared with our children and our friends.  We harkened back to the movie, “On Golden Pond”.  This would be the place when we removed all vestiges of our busy lives and settled down to getting to know and enjoy each other.

p.s. My husband Bob Wilson is the photographer. He’s excellent and I know as you read this blog you will be as amazed as I am at some of his photos.

About Shawn Phillips

As someone who has relocated several times – buying and selling houses of my own for personal and investment purposes – I can easily put myself in my clients’ shoes. I know what I needed from my Realtors and I attempt to provide that or better for my clients. My family relocated to Charleston six years ago and my love for the city and the lifestyle is one I enjoy sharing with others. Prior to entering real estate in the Low Country I was a hospital administrator for many years in Charleston and New York City and was a Realtor in Sarasota, Florida. Leveraging my experience, I pride myself in providing outstanding client service, availability, personal touches, multi-faceted marketing, and skilled negotiations. The level of trust given to me by a client is the greatest compliment I receive as a professional. It is the foundation of my practice. My dedication to each and every client is evident before, during, and after the sale!
This entry was posted in Building a Cottage, Retirement/Reinvention and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dreaming a New Life

  1. witchypoo says:

    And a beautiful spot it is! May you stay wahm in the wintah, and cool in the summah.

  2. Richard says:

    congratulations on your new blog. it’s great to have this window on your new mainiac world.
    xo
    rich and linda

  3. Eriic Phillips says:

    What a beautiful home in a majestic location. We are very excited to come visit again.

  4. What a wonderful way of writing you have! A gift! I love this photo you have there under is blog. It is so pretty and I think it would make a beautiful painting.

  5. Gloria Maher says:

    Wow – I LOVE this photo of the boat in the mist. I look forward to reading more of your entries – not just moving to Maine, but moving across the windy bridge to Deer Isle is very impressive!

Leave a Reply

